MINUTES

HOUGHTON-PORTAGE TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS

BOARD OF EDUCATION September 21, 2020

Members Present: Baltensperger (via Zoom meeting), Christopherson, Fay,

Foltz, Leonard, Massaway, Verran (via Zoom meeting)

Members Absent: None

Also Present: Administrators Kramer, Filpus, Hill, Klein, Marcotte,

Sanregret; Garrett Neese, Colette Patchin; Tom Rajala,

Andy Moyle

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Christopherson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

2. Public Comment

The Board received public comment.

3. Consent Agenda

Mrs. Massaway with support from Mr. Fay moved that the Board approve the minutes of the August 10, 2020 regular Board meeting, and the August financial statements and bills in the amount of \$486,042.31. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Administrative Reports

Mr. Hill, Ms. Filpus, and Mr. Klein reported on events occurring in their buildings. Mr. Sanregret provided a report on athletics.

5. MASA/MASB/CCASB Reports

There were no MASA, CCASB or MASB Reports.

6. Discussion Items

1. Ms. Kramer led a discussion regarding the extended COVID-19 Learning Plan

7. Action Items

1. Approve Title I Compact

Mr. Foltz with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve the Title I Compact. Motion carried unanimously.

2. Extended COVID-19 Learning Plan

Mr. Leonard with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve the extended COVID-19 Learning Plan. Motion carried unanimously.

8. Executive Session

Mr. Foltz with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board adjourn to executive session to discuss negotiations. Through a roll call vote, the motion passed with voting as follows: Ayes: Christopherson, Fay, Foltz, Leonard, Massaway; Nays: none. The Board adjourned to executive session at 6:48 p.m. The Board returned to regular session at 7:31 p.m.

9. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Foltz moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Christopherson adjourned the meeting at 7:32 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Colette Patchin, Acting Secretary

Crystal Verran, Board Secretary