MINUTES
HOUGHTON-PORTAGE TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS
BOARD OF EDUCATION
February 17, 2020

Members Present: Baltensperger, Christopherson, Fay, Foltz, Leonard,

Massaway, Verran

Members Absent: None

Also Present: Administrators Kramer, Hill, Filpus, Marcotte, Sanregret;

Colette Patchin, Garrett Neese, Kelly Fontaine

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Christopherson called the meeting to order at 5:59 p.m.

2. Public Comment

The Board received public comment.

3. Consent Agenda

Mr. Foltz with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve the minutes of the January 20, 2020 regular Board meeting, the February 13, 2020 Personnel/Policy Committee meeting, the January financial statements and the bills in the amount of \$301,364.49. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Administrative Reports

Ms. Filpus and Mr. Hill reported on events occurring in their buildings. Mr. Sanregret provided a report on athletics. Ms. Kramer provided a district report.

5. MASB, MASA & CCASB Reports

Mrs. Verran provided a CCASB report. Ms. Kramer provided an MASA report. There was no MASB report.

6. Discussion Items

1. MASB Board of Directors Election - Mr. Baltensperger led a discussion about the MASB election.

2. CCASB Winter Program -

Ms. Kramer led a discussion about organizing the CCASB Winter Program. The program will start with dinner in the Multipurpose Room on Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. followed by a presentation given by the Interact Club to be held in the library.

7. Action Items

1. MASB Board of Directors Election

Mrs. Massaway with support from Mr. Foltz moved that the Board cast their vote for Janice Van Gasse to be the candidate to represent Region 1 for a three-year term on the MASB Board of Directors. Motion carried unanimously.

8. Other Concerns or Public Comment

None

9. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Foltz with support from Mr. Baltensperger moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Christopherson adjourned the meeting at $6:42~\mathrm{p.m.}$

Respectfully submitted,

Colette Patchin, Acting Secretary

Crystal Verran, Board Secretary