MINUTES HOUGHTON-PORTAGE TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION December 16, 2019

Members Present: Baltensperger, Christopherson, Fay, Foltz, Leonard, Massaway, Verran

- Members Absent: None
- Also Present: Administrators Kramer, Hill, Klein, Sanregret, Marcotte; Colette Patchin

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Foltz called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

2. Presentations/Acknowledgments

PTO - Nancy Verive gave an update on the Elementary School PTO

Safe Routes to School (SRTS) - Richelle Winkler & MTU students presented

3. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

4. Consent Agenda

Mrs. Verran with support from Mr. Christopherson moved that the Board approve the minutes of the November 18, 2019 regular Board meeting, the December 12, 2019 School Improvement Committee Meeting and the December financial statements and bills in the amount of \$287,370.18. Motion carried unanimously.

5. Administrative Reports

Mr. Hill and Mr. Klein reported on events occurring in their buildings. Mr. Sanregret provided an athletics report.

6. <u>MASA/MASB/CCASB Reports</u>

There was no report on MASB or MASA. Mrs. Verran gave a report on CCASB.

7. Action Items

1. Resolution to accept An Emergency Plan

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mr. Christopherson moved that the Board approve a resolution to accept the emergency plan presented. Motion carried unanimously.

2. Resolution to Request Summer Tax Collection

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve a resolution to levy summer tax collection. Motion carried unanimously.

3. Second Reading - NEOLA

Mr. Fay with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve the second reading and adopt the Fall 2019 NEOLA policy updates. Motion carried unanimously.

9. Other Concerns or Public Comment

There were no other concerns or public comment.

10. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mr. Christopherson moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Foltz adjourned the meeting at 7:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Colette Patchin, Acting Secretary

Crystal Verran, Board Secretary