MINUTES HOUGHTON-PORTAGE TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION July 16, 2018

Members Present: Baltensperger, Christopherson, Crane, Foltz, Massaway,

Verran, Wheeler

Members Absent: None

Also Present: Administrators Klingbeil, Hill, Filpus, Klein, Horsch,

Marcotte; Colette Patchin, Garrett Neese, Bob Graham,

Melody Doig

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Foltz called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

2. Public Comment

Melody Doig inquired into curriculum requirements for computer classes.

3. Consent Agenda

Mr. Crane with support from Mr. Baltensperger moved that the Board approve the minutes of the June 25, 2018 regular meeting, and the June financial statements and bills in the amount of \$280,611.29. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Administrative Reports

Mr. Klein, Miss Filpus and Mr. Hill reported on events occurring in their buildings. Mr. Horsch recommended Kurt Huffmaster for Varsity Football Coach. Mrs. Klingbeil reported on events in the district.

5. MASB, MASA & CCASB Reports

There were no MASB, MASA, or CCASB reports.

6. <u>Discussion Items</u>

1) Mrs. Klingbeil provided the board a report on the summer updates. Bob Graham gave updates on the bond project.

7. Action Items

1) Resolution to Participate in School Bond Loan Fund

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve a resolution to participate in the School Bond Loan Fund. Motion carried unanimously.

2) Designation of Depositories for School Funds

Mr. Christopherson with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve the designation of Superior National Bank as the depository of general fund, debt retirement, capital projects monies, federal tax deposits, athletics and school service accounts, and trust fund; River Valley State Bank as the depository for the trust and agency fund; the Michigan School District Liquid Fund as the depository for general fund and capital projects; and the Michigan Tech Credit Union as the depository for the elementary trust and agency account. Motion carried unanimously.

3) Designation of Signature Authority for Depository Bag

Mr. Crane with support from Mr. Baltensperger moved that the Board approve the designation of Sara Marcotte and Colette Patchin for signature authority for depository bag. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve the designation of Shirley Belej and Colette Patchin for posting public notice of meetings. Motion carried unanimously.

5) Delegation of Election Duties

Mr. Crane with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve the delegation of Sara Marcotte to attend to all election duties. Motion carried unanimously.

6) Adoption of Legal Reference Note

Mrs. Massaway with support from Mr. Crane moved that the Board designate themselves as a General Powers School District by operational law. Motion carried unanimously.

7) Approval of Organizational Memberships - MASA, MASB, CCASB

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve the organizational memberships in the Michigan Association of School Administrators, the Michigan Association of School Boards and the MASB Legal Trust Fund, and the Copper Country Association of School Boards. Motion carried unanimously.

8) Approval of MASB LRN Program

Mr. Crane with support of Mr. Baltensperger moved that the Board approve participation in the MASB Legislative Relations Network (LRN) Program. Mr. Crane with support of Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve and designate Mr. Christopherson as their LRN representative. Motion carried unanimously.

9) Approval of Annual Retainer Contracts - School Attorney and Auditor

Mrs. Massaway with support from Mr. Wheeler moved that the Board approve the annual retainer contracts with the law firms of

Neuminen, DeForge & Toutant of Houghton and Ryan Law Offices of Iron Mountain as their counselors, the Thrun Law Firm serving as school attorneys for school elections and matters pertaining to school law, and Rukkila, Negro & Associates to serve as school auditor. Motion carried unanimously.

10) Designation of Carriers to Transport Students

Mrs. Massaway with support from Mr. Crane moved that the Board designate Lamers Transit as the transportation provider for the district, all area schools, Copper Country I.S.D., Michigan Technological University, Houghton Transit Authority, Hancock Transit, local taxi companies, R&A Transportation, and any other carrier designated by the Board or approved by the Superintendent as carriers to transport students. Motion carried unanimously.

11) Selection of Representative for CCASB

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mr. Wheeler moved that the Board approve the selection of Mrs. Verran as representative for the CCASB. Mr. Crane with support from Mr. Baltensperger moved that the Board approve the selection of Mr. Baltensperger as alternate. Motion carried unanimously.

12) Approval of Board Member Travel

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board approve member travel to MASB, MASA, and NSBA functions and seminars, the U.P. Legislative Summit, the Governor's education summit, and local CCASB functions. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Crane with support from Mr. Christopherson moved that the Board designate Julie Filpus as district representative in the absence of the Superintendent. Motion carried unanimously.

14) Schools of Choice Program for 2018-19 School Year

Mr. Wheeler with support from Mr. Crane moved that the Board participate in the Schools of Choice program for the 2018-19 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

15) <u>Michigan High School Athletic Association ("MHSAA") Membership</u> Resolution

Mr. Crane with support from Mrs. Verran moved that the Board approve a resolution to participate under the guidelines of MHSAA. Motion carried unanimously.

16) Resolution Setting the First Day of School for 2018-19 School Year

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the Board designate Tuesday, September $4^{\rm th}$ as the first day of school for the 2018-19 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

17) Resolution to Hire New Teaching Personnel

Mr. Christopherson with support from Mr. Wheeler moved that the Board approve the hiring of

Cheryl Decker - Middle School Social Studies Jesse DePue - High School Science Ashley Dunstan - 4th Grade Brandi Hainault - Kindergarten Katelyn Liubakka - High School Social Studies Morgan Niemela - High School English Blaire Zenner - Kindergarten Kurt Huffmaster - Varsity Football Coach

18) Resolution to Approve AFSCME Union Contract Agreement

Mr. Baltensperger with support from Mr. Wheeler moved that the Board approve the ratification of the entire Master Agreement, reached between the HPTS and the HPTS AFSCME union to be effective upon the date of the execution of the written contract by signatures of officials of both parties. Motion carried unanimously.

8. Other Concerns

There were no other concerns.

9. Executive Session

Mr. Crane with support from Mr. Christopherson moved that the Board adjourn to executive session to discuss negotiations. Through a roll call vote, the motion passed with voting as follows: Ayes:
Baltensperger, Christopherson, Crane, Foltz, Massaway, Verran, Wheeler; Nays: none. The Board adjourned to executive session at 6:48 p.m. The Board returned to regular session at 6:59 p.m.

10. Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Christopherson with support from Mrs. Massaway moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Foltz adjourned the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Colette Patchin, Acting Secretary

Crystal Verran, Board Secretary